Life: 6 Months Out

”YOU’LL BE HIRED BECAUSE OF YOUR VETERANS STATUS”

Sounds amazing right? All this guaranteed talk look great but one thing, nothing is guaranteed. That was a lesson quickly learned as the hunt is still on. This transition from military to civilian is different from what I expected.

I became 18, and it was time for me to make a choice, college or military. I wasn’t the biggest fan of going to college, so I chose to enter our air force. Best decision I made in my life. Also a double edge sword but ill explain why momentarily. Came in motivated and ready to do big things! Then, after eight years, no deployments and unmotivated, I felt its time for a change.

I loved my time in, but I felt it didn’t satisfy me like it used to. Because it supposes to, right? Two kids and no real debt I figured it wots be that bad. It’ll be wrong, but I’m sure ill in the workforce because you know, things seem to be guaranteed. Honorable discharge, dd214, and freedom, most will say. Separated in October 2017 and guess what month it is…March 2018.

Here’s where I mention the double edge sword, I went in the airforce and gained so much experience. Problem is I never experience adulthood where I didn’t have a safety net. Making way for myself and learning this thing called life and understanding the struggle eight years later. The adjustment was already ridiculous, then add on not being accepted for jobs, figuring out what I wanted to do for school, I couldn’t make a definite choice. Situations show I’m approved and qualified but won’t respond back after plenty of follow-ups, finding odd jobs to create income. It’s been a bumpy road.

Now I am attending college and making use of my G.I. Bill. Happy to finally make progress but I still depend on the government since recently a new glitch with their system caused mid-February enrollments are in cyberspace somewhere, so that’s great. Coming from a structured way of life to a plan A-Z is challenging, but I’m learning.

To all my veterans that are struggling, keep pushing. Stay motivated and make use of your benefits. To everyone still serving who think it’s scary, you’re right; it is but don’t let that stop you. Live life, learn that it’s okay to Face All Important Lessons, puck yourself up after and try again.

Leave a comment